It’s Awards Season, y’all!

golden-globes-logo

I cannot confirm or deny that I was drifting off at my desk because I stayed up way too late last night catching up on my Golden Globes and my stories. Today is definitely one of those days that I wish I didn’t give up caffeine cold turkey, but super glad I’m keeping up with movies and TV. I tell you what, last night did not disappoint!

Before I get too far down the Globes rabbit hole, let me quickly break to say this- DOWNTON!!!!!!! I’ll do a different post about that, because this episode had some very polarizing opinions about the storyline, but I, personally, thought it was one of the best episodes of the show. It’s about time Julian Fellowes shook that house up with things besides first world, who’s-going-to-dress-me-now? problems. Again, my opinion, but whatever.

Now- back to the task at hand. The Golden Globes were so glamorous! Well, mostly glamorous (I’m throwing shade at you, Paula Patton). The night was so glamorous, a pipe literally exploded with anticipation. Yes, there was actually a pipe that burst and flooded the red carpet, causing some brawny firemen to work to quickly clean up. But everything worked out, and luckily no gorgeous dresses were harmed in the process, though some dresses probably SHOULD have been harmed… (see: Paula Patton, shade)

mmm... gross.

mmm… gross.

The night got off to a great start with the beautiful Tina Fey and Amy Poehler’s opening remarks. I liked the now much quoted explanation of Gravity as “a story where George Clooney would rather float of into space and die, than spend another minute with a woman his own age…” *cut to Sandra Bullock laughing her butt off*. For some reason though I loved the joke “American Hustle, or as it was known by it’s working title: Explosion at a Wig Factory.” Also, Amy Poehler poked fun at herself a bit with the help of Jennifer Lawrence, and everyone knows that a celebrity making fun of themselves is never not funny.

enhanced-buzz-30213-1389589776-6

The night got off to a sweet start with Jennifer Lawrence winning Best Supporting Actress- Comedy/Musical. Hooray! And Nicholas Hoult was there to give her a congratulatory smooch- adorbs!

Be still, my X-Men loving heart

Be still, my X-Men loving heart

She didn’t even fall on her way up to receive her award this time, even though she looked like she was doing a glamorous cosplay of New Legs Ariel. Everyone is hating on her dress, though! Oh well. I thought it was simple and pretty. She’s a young girl who is known for doing what she wants, and I think she probably loved the dress. There were plenty of other young actresses who made worse dress choices than her (Emma Stone and Zooey Deschanel). Congrats to Jennifer Lawrence on her win, her on-again man, and for doing what she wants and not giving a hoot. You go girl.

lawrence14f-3-web

Where’s her dinglehopper?

Congrats to Jacqueline Bisset on her overdue win with Best Supporting Actress- TV/Mini Series, but what was going on? I’m in agreement with everyone’s confusion on her long and drawn out acceptance speech and will admit I got up to grab some more wine only to make it back in time for her to power through the walk off music and continue going. I can only imagine the poor souls in the control room trying to figure out what’s going on: “Okay, play the music. Alright, lady, wrap it up… she’s not going anywhere… she beat the music? Play it again, louder.” Awkward….

Behind the Candelabra wins for both the lead actor and best miniseries. No surprise there. While I wanted American Horror Story: Coven to win, I knew they could not beat the taught-faced, piano phenom and his boy toy. It was a good movie though, so I was excited to see them win, even if Michael Douglas’s win was overshadowed in my mind with his throat cancer deal late last year *shudders*.

ugh... throat cancer

ugh… throat cancer

Elisabeth Moss came out of nowhere with her win for Best Actress in a TV/Mini Series. Another you go girl goes out to her. I love her on Mad Men, and even though I have not seen Top of the Lake, I’m sure she’s great in that too, obviously. Jessica Lange did not look happy to be beaten by the underdog this year, but oh well. Shout out for Moss’s dress- so beautiful- and her sassy little cut. Long side glance at Lange’s dress though for looking like a carpet bag… (just saying)

rs_634x1024-140112180607-634.elisabeth-moss-golden-globes-2014

Sad dress :(

She had an uncredited role as the carpet bag in Saving Mr. Banks

Margot Robbie truly did have a breakout performance in The Wolf of Wall Street this year. It was kind of weird to think back to her shy little character on the short-lived Pan Am and see her show-stopping look last night. Poor girl got hazed though when the teleprompter apparently cued the wrong presenter’s part. Nice to see that Jonah Hill can’t even be spontaneously funny in times like that. Oh wait, not funny… what’s the word… oh yeah- sad.

Jonah you were no help.

Jonah, you were no help.

And now I can finally talk about shade-worthy Paula Patton’s dress. It reminded me of a Georgia O’Keefe painting, to the point where, when I first saw it, I thought, “I haven’t been to the Fine Arts Museum in a while…”

Seriously, what is happening here?

Seriously, what is happening here?

100_1464-copy

Which is the painting and which is the dress??

Shade was thrown at that weird shoulder vagina thing and I only broke it to laugh at her oddly ironic joke. Did you miss it? Aaron Eckhart, who joined her in presenting, said something along the lines of “A drug dealer, a psychopath, and a sex addict…” and Paula chimes in with, “Sounds like my kind of man!” Yeah, Mrs. Robin Thicke, we all are reminded that any time “Blurred Lines” comes on the radio. I wonder how much the writers enjoyed writing that joke, I’m sure I’d put that one on my résumé. Anyways, Bryan Cranston won the well-deserved title of Best Actor in a TV Series- Drama for final season as Walter White. And he got to stick around as Breaking Bad won it for Best TV Series- Drama. I especially liked them thanking the fans for sticking with them during their less-formidable seasons in the show’s beginnings, that was very nice to say.

download

Alex Ebert and his hipster ‘do won for Best Original Film Score. And Bono and crew won for Best Original Song. I thought that was pretty special because they did work with Mandela for many years, so, as they said, they were writing from the heart. *small feels*

But the highlight of all of that was P. Diddy (Sean Combs? I’m not cool enough to know what name he goes by now) being more awkward than I have ever been in my lifetime. I write a blog called “The Awkward Redhead,” so I know I’m awkward, but I have never been on that Bono-Diddy hug level. Those awkward hug moments make my night. Honestly, you can catch up on all of the acceptance speeches and winners any time following the awards, but what you’re really missing are the candid moments with the awkward hugs and unanswered high-fives. Truly the most magical moment of award shows…

I live for these moments

I live for these moments

Jon Voight looked like the old man at the beginning of Phantom of the Opera as he robbed Aaron Paul of the Golden Globe for Best Supporting Actor- TV/Mini Series.

jon-voight-05

Christine…. Christine….

Aaron Paul was robbed, I say! And so does, like, all of the internet honestly. But as upset as I was about it, when they showed Liev Shreiber looking so proud of his TV dad, I quickly stopped yelling at my TV. (Just in time to riff on that scarf!) Side note- Amber Heard had a lot going on with herself last night. She’s such a pretty woman, but that eye makeup aged her and that weird pompadour was just… weird… I could have done with just my favorite TV firefighters, Taylor Kinney and Jesse Spencer. Fun Fact: Taylor Kinney is dating Lady Gaga and Jesse Spencer is actually Australian, as evident by his wonderful accent. Both of these are facts my mom did not know, so that could also be a fun fact for you.

Spencer, left, Kinney, right

Spencer, left, Kinney, right

I’m really glad Amy Adams chose a deep plunge dress for the evening, or else people might not have recognized her as she accepted her award for Best Actress in a Movie- Comedy or Musical. But all kidding aside, she was wonderful in American Hustle, deep plunges and all. She was also great in Spike Jonze’s Her, so this award only helped reassure her that she is doing amazing work and to just continue doing what she’s doing. She looked, as always, and was just as equally charming. I want to meet her and just talk about the shared plights of redheads everywhere. Congrats to Robert Downey Jr. too, I guess, for apparently getting to keep his tux. At least that’s what he said, in his weird intro, would happen if Amy Adams won.

a-mah-zing

a-mah-zing

ROBIN WRIGHT WON BEST ACTRESS! Well, in a TV series- Drama, at least. I’m so happy for this one because she was on my wish list of winners for the evening. Granted, on my wish list she shared the win with the amazing Tatiana Maslany of Orphan Black (more on that show in blog posts to come), but win nonetheless. She looked adorable as she ran up to the stage and stunning as she said her thank yous. House of Cards is such a great show (more on that in other posts, as well). If you have not seen it yet, you have plenty of time to watch the first season on Netflix before it’s Season 2 premiere on Valentine’s Day. Hop to it!

rs_634x1024-140112190125-634.Robin-Wright-Golden-Globe-Awards-Stage.ms.011214

Of course Jared Leto won the Golden Globe for Best Supporting Actor- Motion Picture. Of course I thought Bradley Cooper was amazing in American Hustle, and I would never turn down a moment to see more of Michael Fassbender, but Jared Leto was apparently amazing in Dallas Buyers Club. I say “apparently,” because it’s next on my must watch list, but I have not see it yet. Still, based on his other stuff, I’m sure it truly is amazing. I’m excited to watch it.

rs_634x1024-140112185322-634.jared-leto-winner-golden-globes-2014

You win the Man Scarf Awards, too

I now take this moment to pause and recognize my love for Emma Thompson. I mean, seriously, she looked so beautiful, just like she has for all of the Saving Mr. Banks press tour. It’s always a treasure to see her do anything, so I was happy to see her tonight, too. She came on stage, heels in one hand, martini in the other, and reminded us of the incredible task writers have to bring our beloved stories to life. She threw her shoes over her shoulder, exchanged her martini for the envelope, and congratulated Spike Jonze on his win for Best Screenplay-Motion Picture.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-9002-1389635259-5  anigif_original-grid-image-9338-1389635331-5

I was so excited to see Jonze’s newest film, Her, win this award. I loved this movie, probably my favorite out of the award season. I’ll have more on the movie soon, until then, trust me on my word that it’s good. Go see it.

rs_634x1024-140112192101-634.spike-jonze.cm.11214

You are as beautiful as your films, sir

On the tails of my excitement came Andy Samberg’s win for Best Actor in a TV Series- Comedy. I am so happy to see this new show become so successful. I felt like there was a looming cloud over the Fox show, since the network doesn’t have a great track record for their live-action comedies (pour one out for Breaking In, The Loop, and even Arrested Development). But this show is doing great! What made Samberg’s unexpected win even better was the bromance between his former SNL costar and him. So adorable.

enhanced-buzz-10503-1389587562-4

Poor Despicable Me 2 and The Croods didn’t even stand a chance against Frozen. While all three movies were very enjoyable, and great for audiences, Disney and Pixar usually have this category locked. Congrats on the Best Animated Feature Film, Frozen! Let’s go build a snowman! Side note: Captain Kirk is always a welcomed sight, and Emma Watson’s dress/pantsuit was beautiful. The gown version of a snuggie, but beautiful.

It's like a little baby unicorn

It’s like a little baby unicorn

As much as I love Woody Allen and his films, and I truly do, his lifetime achievement award portion was kind of weird, as most of the typically are. Emma Stone looked like she was channeling someone in between Annie Hall and Woody Allen in that weird outfit, but I liked it from the top up, if that makes any difference… And Diane Keaton was her usual self, so no surprise when she started to sing the Girl Scouts song. I actually thought her part was kind of sweet, due to the fact the two have been friends longer than I have been alive. So moving on…

Best Motion Picture Comedy went to American Hustle, like I thought it would, though I was hoping Her would win. Either way, I enjoyed them both.

rs_560x415-140112201022-1024.american-hustle-golden-globes-2014

Alfonso Cuaron rightfully won Best Director for Gravity. I haven’t had the chance to see it, partly because I’m still recovering from my terrible Astronomy class last semester, but I also have not had the chance. Still, well deserved win for him.

rs_1024x759-140112194048-1024.alfonso-winner-golden-globes-2014

Now the important part- Leonardo DiCaprio FINALLY WON Best Actor in a Motion Picture- Comedy or Musical. Took them long enough. He even took time to honor Bruce Dern’s body of work in his speech and thank Martin Scorscese for the influence he’s had on Leo’s career. Wonderfully done, Leo. While The Wolf of Wall Street is a little too much for me, it was excellently made and led by an amazing actor. Another well deserved, if not long overdue, win. Odds are in your favor for Oscar, Leo!

anigif_enhanced-buzz-32313-1389585440-26

About dang time

Another great, and overdue, win for Best Actor in a Motion Pricture- Drama for Matthew McConaughey. I especially liked the “Alright, alright, alright…” as he walked up to the mic, throwing it back to his role on Dazed and Confused. (Geez, the amount of movie trivia I know off the top of my head… someone pay me for it, please).

rs_560x415-140112201157-1024.matthew-mcconaughey-golden-globes-2014

Shortly following his win, Cate Blanchett looked stunning, as usual, as she won the award for Best Actress in a Motion Picture- Drama. I’m excited to see Blue Jasmine, I’ve heard so many great things about it. I just wish Woody Allen was there to actually get all the recognition coming his way.

My underdog, Brooklyn Nine-Nine won Best TV Series- Comedy or Musical (hooray!) and the always lovely Amy Poehler won Best Actress in a TV Series- Comedy or Musical, finally. A lot of finally’s tonight HFA, great job! Amy even made out with Bono before heading up to accept her award- bucket list check and check…

anigif_enhanced-buzz-26428-1389588250-5

I’m very happy to see her win. She was great on SNL and she’s great on Parks and Rec. Another deserved win for the evening.

Last, but certainly not least, the Best Motion Picture- Drama was awarded to 12 Years a Slave. A surprised Steve McQueen made his way up to the stage to say his sweet thank yous to all who helped him. His sweet reaction to his win was a pleasant way to end the evening.

Thanks, Sarah Paulson, for making sure he thanked everyone

Thanks, Sarah Paulson, for making sure he thanked everyone

Phew! What a night. Not that anyone will care that this is so late after the awards, but I did have a real person job I had to do today. What did y’all think of the awards and the movies honored? Give me your thoughts! 🙂

Oh- and I cannot talk about the Globes without mention this lovely pic:

All the yes's

All the yes’s

That’s right, internet, that is Michael Fassbender and Benedict Cumberbatch dancing to Notorious B.I.G. at an after party.

Emma Thompson approves

Emma Thompson approves

Leave a comment